Kiss of Snow: Nalini Singh
December 21, 2011
Nights in Bliss, Colorado: Sophie Oak
December 23, 2011

Now, I have a confession to make, I know this series didn’t come out this year, in fact the sixth and final book came out in 2010, but I hadn’t had a chance to read any of these books previously.  So on the recommendations of two very dear friends and the highly amusing recommendation of a third (he recommended high frustration tolerance for it), I picked up all six Rachel K. Vincent novels and dove in to read them.  While all six deserve to be in my top ten for 2011, I’m listing the first one because every series begins somewhere.



I look like an all-American grad student. But I am a werecat, a shape-shifter, and I live in two worlds.

Despite reservations from my family and my Pride, I escaped the pressure to continue my species and carved out a normal life for myself. Until the night a Stray attacked.
I’d been warned about Strays—werecats without a Pride—constantly on the lookout for someone like me: attractive, female and fertile. I fought him off, but then learned two of my fellow tabbies had disappeared.
This brush with danger was all my Pride needed to summon me back…for my own protection. Yeah, right. But I’m no meek kitty. I’ll take on whatever—and whoever—I have to in order to find my friends. Watch out, Strays—’cause I got claws, and I’m not afraid to use them….
High Frustration Tolerance and a Confession

I have a little confession to make, I read the first one and enjoyed the hell out of it. It’s suspenseful, populated by great characters and a heroine that you want to root for, but you also have the urge to scream and pound things.  Subsequent books increase this tension until you are literally waiting for it all to snap. 
When I read this series, my dog of 15 years had just passed away. I immersed myself in Faythe’s world because crying for her losses, her aggravations and cheering her triumphs helped me through a tough time.  I know that my own emotions colored my viewpoint, but this series of six is a truly gripping and somewhat modern epic take on family, loyalty, passion, inheritance and living up to the legacy of generations.  
Don’t miss out.

1 Comment

  1. This was one of my favorites series and one of the few I read immediately as the books came out (I tend to collect a series and then read them back to back). I was heart broken when it ended.
    alterlisa AT yahoo DOT com

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *